Books

The Best Books to Satisfy Your Bridgerton Cravings

Delve into the world of regency romance with these swoon-worthy reads

Welcome to the tantalizing world of Regency romance, where the air is thick with whispers of scandal, the ballrooms shimmer with elegance, and every glance holds the promise of passion.

If you’ve found yourself swept away by the enchanting allure of Bridgerton, fear not, dear reader, for there are plenty more pages to turn and hearts to flutter in the realm of historical romance novels.

Much like the illustrious Featheringtons and esteemed Bridgertons, these novels offer a delightful escape into a world of high society and forbidden desires. From the rustle of silk gowns to the sparkle of candlelit soirées, these books transport you to a time when love was a game played by the rules of society, yet often won by the daring and the bold.

So, dear reader, prepare to be whisked away on a journey of romance and intrigue as we explore a collection of novels that capture the essence of Bridgerton while offering their own unique blend of charm, wit, and undeniable chemistry.

The Best Books Like Bridgerton

Bringing Down The Duke

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore

In Evie Dunmore’s debut, Bringing Down the Duke, Annabelle Archer, a determined vicar’s daughter, clashes with the formidable Duke of Montgomery in a battle of love and principles that threatens to disrupt Victorian society. Set in 1879 England, Annabelle must navigate her burgeoning attraction to the duke while advocating for women’s suffrage. As their passionate struggle unfolds, both must confront their desires and convictions in a story that challenges tradition and ignites the flames of rebellion.

never fall for your fiancee

Never Fall for Your Fiancee (The Merriwell Sisters #1) by Virginia Heath

In Virginia Heath’s uproarious historical rom-com, Hugh Standish, Earl of Fareham, concocts a fake fiancée to thwart his matchmaking mother’s schemes. But when his plan goes awry and he collides with the spirited Minerva Merriwell, everything spirals out of control. As their fake engagement evolves into genuine affection, they must navigate a tangled web of miscommunication and deception to find true love. With humour and heart, this delightful tale kicks off the Merriwell Sisters series with laughter and romance.

while the duke was sleeping

While The Duke Was Sleeping by Sophie Jordan

In Sophie Jordan’s While the Duke Was Sleeping, a chance encounter leads shop girl Poppy Fairchurch to rescue the Duke of Autenberry from peril. Mistaken for his fiancée, Poppy is thrust into high society, where she encounters Struan Mackenzie, the duke’s sceptical half-brother. As tension and desire mount between them, Poppy must choose between the fantasy of the duke and the undeniable allure of the smouldering Scot.

to have and to hoax

To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

In To Have and to Hoax, a witty historical rom-com by Martha Waters, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley engage in a hilarious battle of wits and manipulation after years of estrangement. When a fake accident brings them back into each other’s orbit, they embark on a series of escalating antics to win the upper hand and perhaps rediscover their lost love. With charm, humour, and plenty of flirtation, this delightful comedy explores whether love can triumph over years of hurt and misunderstanding.

reputation book cover

Reputation by Lex Croucher

In this captivating tale of social upheaval and self-discovery, middle-class Georgiana Ellers finds herself thrust into the glittering world of Regency high society after meeting the captivating Frances Campbell. As Georgiana navigates the wild parties and enigmatic characters of the elite, she grapples with the true cost of belonging to such an exclusive world. With its intoxicating blend of intrigue and allure, this novel delves into the complexities of identity and the pursuit of belonging in Regency England.

slightly married book cover

Slightly Married (Bedwyn #1) by Mary Balogh

From bestselling author Mary Balogh comes the captivating first instalment of the Bedwyn saga. Meet the Bedwyns: six brothers and sisters of passion and privilege navigating the dazzling world of high society. When Colonel Lord Aidan Bedwyn promises a dying soldier to protect his sister, he never expects to find a fiercely independent woman who ignites feelings in his guarded heart. As they enter into a marriage of convenience to save her home, sparks fly and unexpected emotions emerge, transforming their arrangement into something truly surprising.

something fabulous book cover

Something Fabulous by Alexis Hall

Valentine Layton, the Duke of Malvern, finds himself in a romantic tangle when his proposed marriage of convenience to Miss Arabella Tarleton goes awry. Pursued by Arabella’s twin brother, Bonaventure, Valentine embarks on a madcap journey to win back Arabella’s affections. But as he grows closer to Bonny, Valentine begins to question everything he thought he knew about love and his own desires. With humour and heart, this delightful story explores the complexities of romance and self-discovery.

Related stories