Australia will decide Eurovision 2019 entrant

Sashaying our flag will be...

In 2019, Australia will once again compete in the Eurovision Song Contest.

And after the successes of Jessica Mauboy and Dami Im, now the nation will be given the responsibility on who will sing for our country.

In February 2019, hosted on the Gold Coast and broadcast live on SBS, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase ten celebrated artists singing an original composition for their chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019.

Sure to make an unforgettable impact on stage are legendary drag queen and reality television veteran Courtney Act with her song Fight for Love released today, charismatic pop star Aydan and introducing 16-year-old singer-songwriter Leea Nanos who has been selected as a wild card entry after her song submission blew judges away.

Act said, “A sweet 16 years after Australian Idol I have the chance to show Australia how I have grown as an artist and a performer and I am so excited.”

“To compete to represent Oz in Eurovision is second only to being on that stage in Tel Aviv and singing my lungs out for my country. I’ve sat at home every year since Guy Sebastian competed in 2015 and have been so keen to be a part of it. Now, this might be my chance!”

Announced earlier this month, they join award-winning artist Kate Miller-Heidke, much-loved indie pop band Sheppard, pop-opera star Mark Vincent, modern electric-soul duo Electric Fields with three more acts still to be revealed, as well as the songs they will sing for their shot at Eurovision glory.

Hosted by radio host and music buff Myf Warhurst, and comedian Joel Creasey, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase the best of Australian music and bring the nation closer to the Eurovision action.

Eurovision – Australia Decides airs Saturday 9 February live on SBS, when voting will be open to the public.

Related stories