Books

Can’t wait for the Anyone But You Sequel? Here Are 8 Books That Will Get You Through

The perfect summer read.
Loading the player...

So you’ve watched Anyone But You. Then, you watched it again when The Valentine Encore dropped, and now you’re patiently (or not-so-patiently) waiting for any more news of a sequel

What now? Sure, you could keep re-watching the movie, or, you could try watching other classics of the genre. But we have a better plan – one that involves reading. 

Watch Below: The BookTok reads you won’t want to put down

As any aficionado of rom-coms knows, Anyone But You’s success relies heavily on its use of traditional romantic comedy tropes. 

We’re talking fake dating. Enemies to Lovers. Trainwreck destination weddings.

Sure, many movies also hit these plots, but books thrive on the fake dating enemies-to-lovers shenanigans. 

Which is why we’re rounding up the best books to read to fill that Anyone-But-You-sized hole in your hearts. 

The best books like Anyone But You to read in 2024

books like anyone but you

The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas

Catalina Martín finds herself in a bind when her fabricated American boyfriend becomes the talk of her sister’s wedding. With only three days to convince her family of their love, she reluctantly turns to the infuriatingly charming Aaron Blackford for help. As sparks fly and tensions rise, Catalina must navigate her growing attraction amidst the chaos of her deception, leading to a captivating enemies-to-lovers romance set against the backdrop of a picturesque Spanish wedding.

Available at:

best new book releases february 2024

It’s Complicated by Camilla Isley

Lori finds herself torn between her past and present when her best friend’s wedding necessitates a date. With Aiden, her lost love, out of reach, she turns to her brooding best friend Jace, whose wild nature has always kept her at arm’s length. As they embark on a charade that blurs the lines between friendship and romance, Lori discovers that pretending to be in love may just unearth genuine feelings she never expected. 

Available at:

books like anyone but you

Better Than The Movies by Lynn Painter

Liz Buxbaum is determined to finally catch the attention of her longtime crush, Michael, with the help of her irritating yet endearing neighbour, Wes. As Liz navigates schemes to win Michael’s affection, she unexpectedly finds herself drawn to Wes in ways she never imagined. With humour and heart, Liz learns that love may not always follow the script she imagined, leading her to question her own ideas of Happily Ever After in this delightful tale of teenage romance.

Available at:

books like anyone but you

The Wake-Up Call by Beth O’Leary

In the midst of chaos at Forest Manor Hotel, sworn enemies Izzy and Lucas find themselves forced to work together to save the failing establishment. As they set aside their differences to retrieve lost wedding rings and restore the hotel’s reputation, their bitter rivalry evolves into something unexpected. As they navigate the challenges of the busiest season, Izzy and Lucas must confront their growing feelings and decide if love is worth risking their hard-won truce and the future of the hotel.

Available at:

books like anyone but you

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Olive finds herself reluctantly paired with her sworn enemy, Ethan, for an unexpected Hawaiian honeymoon. As they navigate their pretend marital bliss to capitalize on the free trip, Olive’s luck takes a turn when she discovers unexpected feelings blossoming between them.

Available at:

books like anyone but you

Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Alex Claremont-Diaz, the charismatic son of the American President, finds himself embroiled in a tabloid scandal involving Prince Henry of Britain. To salvage U.S./British relations, they’re forced to fake a friendship, but as they spend more time together, their animosity turns into a secret romance. As their love deepens, Alex and Henry must navigate the complexities of their positions and decide whether their relationship is worth risking everything for. 

Available at:

books like anyone but you

The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon​

Shay Goldstein and Dominic Yun, colleagues at a Seattle radio station, clash over their differing approaches to broadcasting. When the station needs a new concept, they propose “The Ex Talk,” where they pretend to be former lovers offering relationship advice. As their on-air chemistry sparks listeners’ interest, Shay and Dominic must navigate their growing feelings for each other while facing the potential consequences for their careers, in a story that blends humour, romance, and the challenges of professional and personal boundaries.

Available at:

books like anyone but you

Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur

Darcy Lowell and Elle Jones find themselves entangled in a fake relationship after a disastrous blind date orchestrated by Darcy’s well-meaning brother. Despite their differences—Darcy’s analytical nature clashes with Elle’s free-spirited personality—they agree to play along to save face. However, as they navigate family dynamics and holiday chaos together, their fake relationship begins to feel all too real, leading them to confront their true feelings amidst the magic of the holiday season.

Available at:

Read Next: In a Reading Slump? Here are 5 New Books to Read in February 2024

Related stories